7 Up – personal reflection


Recently I purchased a DVD box set (surprise surprise!) of the 7 Up doco series. For those of you unfamiliar with the concept, several children were interviewed and filmed in England in 1964 and were then filmed again every seven years after that. So far, there has been Seven plus Seven (14 Up), 21 Up, 28 Up, 35 Up, 42 Up and 49 Up. The majority of the people agreed to be interviewed each time while some disappeared for one “episode” and others disappeared forever.

It is interesting to watch the series from 7 Up and watch them in order one after the other and I believe that this is the best way to do it. Despite saying that, they do play repeat from previous series because in the show’s main target audience in the UK, I believe that they usually only show the current “episode” so they need to flashback to previous “episodes” to show what happened previously. You can watch 49 Up only if you want but you’ll obviously see more if you don’t.

I’m not going to bore you with who did what when. Wiki is your friend if you want to do that but look at the series rather than the drink. I always remember a sketch on the D Generation’s “The Late Show” where they did a 7 Up type thing but instead instead of years, they did it every 7 minutes.

So here’s my personal “Erk 7 Up.”

7 Up (1981) – I’m 7. My life consists of going to school and coming home and playing around the house. I enjoy the occasional family outing and gathering. The previous year, my sister died shortly after birth.

14 Up (1988)
– I’m 14 and in the second year of High School. I’m just discovering interesting creatures called girls. I’m heavily involved in student politics. On weekends in summer, I play junior cricket. I’m interested in becoming a train driver. Also, I’ve just discovered photography.

21 Up (1995) – I’m 21. Now armed with a Higher School Certificate, I started working on the railway in the previous year (I’ve just started Revenue Protection) and the dream job of a train driver is a distant albiet achievable dream. Girls (or ladies, now) are still a bit of a mystery to me but I have tried but failed each time. I’d spend a lot of Saturday nights at the Sydney Hilton having a great time listening to a cover band and moshing and discovering grunge music. I had my first solo holiday interstate. Sport is something that I watch on TV although a couple of years ago, I did do refereeing in Junior League until I got my railway job. Also, I was doing some radio panelling and presenting for a community station until starting work as well.

I’ve got a Holden Gemini for a car that I saved up for and paid cash the year before.

28 Up (2002) – I’m now 28. I’ve had one relationship (8 months, tried others) and am a Guard on the railways having worked through Revenue Protection and the Security Control Centre. Most of my friends I know through the job. I’ve travelled a lot in the last 7 years. I’m also a newbie volunteer Fire Fighter. My Gemini got stolen as did my Commodore and I smashed up my Nova and got a Toyota Paseo (aka Poor Man’s Celica).

35 Up (2009) – who knows! It’s 2 years time! But I’m now 33 so I’ll cheat a little. I had a short relationship a couple of years ago ( number 2, 4 months). I’m now a train driver and am no longer a volunteer fire fighter but I am a comms dude having done a variety of roles there. Most of my friends I know through work or the RFS. I’m also involved in rallying, mainly as an official but I have done some navigation (co-driving) as well. I’ve done a lot of photography but haven’t picked up a camera seriously for about 10 months. I upgraded from my Poor Man’s Celica to a Subaru Forester which is great. I also do some podcasting which is great because I can do what I want when I want to. I’ve also done some stand up comedy which I want to keep doing. Much like the rest of my life, I fit stuff in according to my mood and when I am working and how I am feeling.

The one constant all the way through is my mum who has been there for me no matter what and I have been there for her no matter what as well. While the rest of our immediate family have died or moved away under difficult circumstances at times, mum and I stick together.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogs, Erk Stories, Rural Fire Service stuff, TV, Work

Leave a Reply

