Queensland Road Trip, Day 4

Day 4 – Gold Coast to Brisbane approx 100km

The plan for today was to go to Dreamworld on the Gold Coast. I’ve never been there before and it is the home of the Australian version of Big Brother which Drue and I cover along with Ben the Podcast Trader on Erk to the Diary Room.

I woke up at 9am and left the motel and filled the Subaru up with fuel. I headed to Dreamworld and the weather quite frankly was crap with on again/off again rain. If I am going to spend $66 to go to an amusement park, I want to be able to go on rides and I want to be comfortable. Under those conditions that would be impossible so I decided to keep going and try again on the way back.

So I decided to come to Brisbane earlier than expected. I arrived before lunch and went driving around the inner suburbs and CBD before deciding on a motel for the next couple of days. I am staying opposite the Brisbane River and am a short walk from a ferry stop and am on a bus route in case I decide not to drive.

After getting lunch from the service station across the road and reading the local newspapers, I was going to go for a walk along the side of the river but it is raining rather hard. So I am going to have an early night as tomorrow is going to be a big day. My plan at the moment is to go somewhere in the morning and then meet up with Natalie (who you may remember from Round Table 3) for a chat and a look around South Bank.

Above two photos – Wet, init! I used the front entry of my motel (first pic) and a phone box (second pic) to provide me with cover and to get a couple of shots of the wet scene.

Above – Me sheltering in a phone box. It has been AGES since I have used a public phone to make a phone call!

Above – Another look at petrol prices, this time from the BP across from my motel.

Above – Now how is this for funky and convenient! The TV and bar fridge in my motel room.

2 Comments

Filed under Qld 2008 Road Trip

2 responses to “Queensland Road Trip, Day 4

  1. Too bad it had to rain for you, Erk. That being said, we could use a nice rainstorm here. Experiencing a bit of a heatwave at the moment.

  2. Erk

    As usual it was fine when I left, Shawno. And Natalie said it was fine before I got there so she’s blaming me. :P

Leave a Reply

