Welcome Mixer V3.0!

After last weekend’s Round Table 9, I had discussions with Drue, Shawno and Richard in relation to the audio for Erk Pod.

As I’ve said in the Post Mortem for the Round Table, I wanted more control over each person’s audio, the ability to mute channels and the ability to have more inputs.

After listening to Drue, Richard & Shawno and looking around the interweb, I decided to get a new mixer which would allow me to do these things and make things easier, especially during live Round Table events.

I was originally going to go mixer shopping on Saturday but decided to go before work on Friday. After looking at Behringer models, I was shown a Yamaha MG124C mixer (pictured) and it does everything I want it to do and possibly more.

After work, I took the mixer to show Drue and it is massive as you can see in these photos. When we have time, we are going to test it and record episode 145 of Erk Pod.

As a comparison, you can see Mixer V2.0 which is a Behringer 1002FX (left). When we do our test, I’ll do a side by side photo. Mixer V2.0 has certainly earnt its keep as I started using it in December 2007. Since then, it has been used in 9 Round Tables and countless episodes of Erk Pod and Erk to the Diary Room. It will be kept as a working spare and for future use.

Needless to say, there will be another set of things to learn with the new mixer and I am hoping that things will be easier and the audio taken to a new level (boom tish! I’ll be here all week!) as well. Thanks to Drue, Shawno & Richard for their advice and thanks also to Penrith Light and Sound.

4 Comments

Filed under Announcements, Erk Pod Maxi & Round Table

4 responses to “Welcome Mixer V3.0!

  1. It’s a nice piece of hardware, can’t wait to experiment with it!

  2. That mixer looks great, Erk!

  3. I can’t wait to here it in action.

  4. Erk

    It’s a super piece of kit, guys! Can’t wait to use it in anger for an episode and then RT10. It will be so much better!

Leave a Reply

