What are people in the UK complaining about?

A new study has revealed what people in the UK complain about. Here’s a the top 100 list with things taken out that would not be relevant to Australians. How many things on this list would annoy you? Have the English forgotten anything? Feel free to comment and let me know what you think of this list.

Source: News Limited.

Top 100 most annoying things in the UK
1. Benefit scroungers
2. The credit crunch
3. Tailgaters
4. Cold callers
5. People reading over your shoulder
8. Being bloated
9. Rising fuel prices
10. Falling house prices
11. The wet summer
12. Middle lane drivers
13. Constipation
14. Bossiness
15. Slow internet connections
16. Being put on hold
17. Pregnant women smoking
18. Somebody nicking your parking spot
19. Stepping in dog poo
20. Jehovah’s witnesses
21. Debt companies advertising on TV
22. Skinny people who complain they are fat
23. Queue jumpers
24. Bullying
25. Noisy neighbours
26. Nosey neighbours
27. People parking in disabled bays when they aren’t disabled
28. Junk mail
29. Snobs
30. Noisy eaters
31. Dog owners who don’t clean up after their dog
32. People putting our Olympic achievements down
33. Novelty ringtones
34. Automated phone systems
35. Chavs
36. People who walk slowly
37. People who take their kids to shops and let them run riot
38. Amy Winehouse
39. Sienna Miller’s love life
40. Rude shop staff
41. Wasps
42. Diarrhoea
44. People who have their mobile turned off when you really need to get hold of them
45. Dannii Minogue
46. Mosquitoes
47. Kids kicking the back of your chair on a plane
48. Hangovers
49. The hot water running out when you are running a bath
50. Buses not arriving on time
51. Heather Mills
52. James Blunt
53. Reformed smokers
54. People talking on their mobile on public transport
55. Headaches
56. The smoking ban
57. Toothache
58. Litter bugs
59. Spots
60. People who write ‘text back’ in texts
61. Scientology
62. Russell Brand
63. Screaming kids
65. Traffic wardens
66. Americans
67. Roadworks
68. Big Brother
69. Pete Doherty
70. Runny nose
71. PDAs (Public displays of affection)
72. Flat tyres
74. Tax returns
75. Finding out that you’ve run out of toilet paper when you really need the loo
76. Boasters
77. Not having change when you really need it
79. Paper cuts
80. Stepping in chewing gum
81. Bad hair days
83. Mother-in-laws
84. Cashiers giving you your change on top of a receipt
85. Posh Spice
86. CDs that jump
87. Stubbing your toe
88. Getting something in your eye
89. Losing your glasses
90. Cat hair that sticks to your clothes
91. Children who cough in your face
92. Losing your passport
93. People ramming the back of your heels with trolleys
94. Rubbish opening times to doctors and dentists
96. Email spam
97. People using mobiles in the quiet carriage on the train
98. People who don’t remove their shoes in the house
99. Naomi Campbell
100. Troublesome printers

4 Comments

Filed under News

4 responses to “What are people in the UK complaining about?

  1. I saw your Twitter link to that list, Erk. I found it to be rather entertaining.

  2. Jim

    I’d love to know who they asked to get some of these, as there’s real whacko-ness in there. I did some random polling around the office today and RAIN definitely came tops. I mean, I know we’re famed for our rain, but the last two summers really have been ridiculous, even for the staunchest of Brits (I hates that term). But remember this, we love to talk about the weather and we love to moan about the weather (you may have noticed that from my tweets). So, I’m somewhat shocked that “the wet summer” isn’t topping the list.

    Of the top ten, “benefits scroungers” I do kind of get, but not to the extent that it’s #1. “Credit Crunch” and “falling house prices” absolutely would put up there along with the weather – people are genuinely starting to get scared about the impact the Global Financial Crisis will have on them personally. It’d be interesting to understand the time period of the survey, as petrol prices have been falling for a few months now (peaked at an average £1.20/L unleaded though – ouch! which explains the whinging).

    You removed the real random stuff from the original list though – nevermind it not making sense to Australians, most baffled me! I mean Fiona Phillips: why are people complaining about a breakfast TV presenter (even if she is kinda lame).

    I scanned the list to see if there was anything I’d whinged about in the last month and identified the following (most whinged about first):

    12. Middle lane drivers – the one thing guaranteed to put me in a bad mood most days of the week driving to work. I don’t get why people hog the middle lane on a three-lane motorway when the slow lane is clear. Not only is it annoying, it’s also illegal. And totally unnecessary. YES, IT MAKES ME ANGRY!!

    11. The wet summer – we don’t ask for much summer-wise, just the odd day of sunshine here and there. Enough to enjoy the odd pint or two chilling in a beer garden in the company of one’s mates. Or to enjoy a day at Headingley without having to hide under a yellow poncho or black bin liner. Shivering at the cricket is no fun. We didn’t even get the usual Indian Summer in September. All we get is one fubarred Gulf Stream dumping Iceland’s rain on us for months on end (apparently). Now even their Prime Minister doesn’t like us. (apparently)

    35. Chavs – I hate the chavs around here. They get drunk on their cheap bottles of cider, hang around in groups on a night and, on my part of the street, they’ve spent the summer demolishing garden walls. I have choice words to call them that I won’t use here.

    94. Rubbish opening times to doctors and dentists – I haven’t been to the docs since the early 90s, but I understand from a very recent family dinner that opening times and getting appointments in general is a nightmare. Especially at the surgery the family has used all my life. Apparently doctors receptionists have become trumped-up little Hitlers. I don’t get the dentist part though. Those appointments have always been inconvenient and meant time off work.

    48. Hangovers – I never used to suffer hangovers. I’d drink and drink and drink (we were the original, pre-alcopop binge drinking generation). Turn, shift, smile. Repeat. Then I hit my mid-30s and it’s like drink-drink-drink-my-body-would-now-like-to-shutdown-for-half-a-week. Of course, I’ve learned a little temperance, but I still have these ridiculous sessions. It’s Tuesday evening now and I’ve been paying for the last one since Saturday AM.

    Right, I got a little carried away there. That’s more than I’ve blogged for months, so I may have to crosspost :)

    okbye,

    The Whinging Pom

  3. Hi, great list. Maybe someone should do a list about tings that make Brits happy…unless of course they’re so busy complaining about something that they have no time to be happy.
    The biggest ‘whinge’ I know of from Brits is about ‘the Government’ and how it’s ‘out of touch with the people.’
    No wonder the British stress levels are at record highs….my message…chill out…does it all really matter?

  4. Erk

    Thank you Shawno, Jim and Paul for your comments. We talk about this article and the feedback received in some detail on episode 146. I’ll have to add to this list of stuff that I’d complain about!

Leave a Reply

